Share this:  


Brian Fay (Raheny Shamrock) finished less than four seconds off the Irish record when clocking a  a time of 27:43.45 in the elite 10,000m  at the  ‘The Ten’ track meet in San Juan, Capistrano, California on Saturday (March 16). The time puts  Fay second on the all-time Irish list behind  Alistair Cragg, whose Irish record of 27:39.55 dates back to April 2007. Race winner was Fay’s  Nike team mate Grant Fisher in 26:52.04; Fay finished 22nd. In another of the 10,000m races on offer, Efrem Gidey  (Clonliffe Harriers) finished sixth in a personal best 27 mins 53.14. In Orlando, Florida, at the Black and Gold meet on Friday (March 15), Abdel Laadjel (Donore Harriers) dominated the men’s 5000m, winning in a personal best 13:46.37.

On the roads, John Travers (Donore Harriers) finished 38th (of 54 finishers)  at the Podium 5km in Leicester on Saturday (March 16) in 14:26. 


Pierre Murchan (Dublin City Harriers) was the winner of the Streets of Portlaoise 5km  held on  the morning of St Patrick’s Day (Sunday March 17) in a time of 14 mins 24 secs. The race was the opening round of the 2024 Peugeot Race Series.  Second in 14:42 was Emmett Jennings (Dundrum South Dublin AC).  Fintan Kerins (Clonliffe Harriers) finished fifth, followed by Declan O’Meara (DSD AC)  sixth and first junior. Grace Lynch (DSD AC) was second  woman in 16:31 while Cliona Murphy (DCH AC) beat Catherina Mullen (Metro St Brigid’s AC)  for third place with a time of 16:48; Mullen was a second behind. Defending Peugeot team champions Dundrum South Dublin had travelled from Dublin in force and they began their title defence in some style taking the team prize with just 38 points. DCH, new to the competition this  year, were second on 80 points.  

Mitchell Byrne and Carla Sweeney made it a Rathfarnham WSAF AC double at the Tallaght 5km held on St Patrick’s Day morning (Sunday March 17). Byrne, pushed the pace from the start with only Aaron Hanlon (Drogheda and District AC) attempting to stay with him. He crossed the finish line in 15 mins 2 secs; Hanlon was eleven seconds behind for second, while third was David Scanlon (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) . Sweeney finished first woman  in 16 mins 55 secs, with Lucy Barrett (Raheny Shamrock AC) third in 17:43. Sportsworld, led by Aoife O’Leary, also first W40, comfortably finished best of the women’s teams followed by Liffey Valley and Crusaders.  Much closer was the men’s competition where Crusaders beat Clonliffe Harriers by just two points. Third was Rathfarnham WSAF. Many excellent photos are at Lindie Naughton's Flickr aaccount at and 

In the Dublin novice championships, incorporated into the race, Andrea Rondina (Crusaders AC), who finished  fourth overall, was the men’s title winner with Laura Ryan (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) first novice woman. Liffey Valley took the women’s team title, with Crusaders second and Donore Harriers third. Crusaders proved best of the men followed by Tallaght and Liffey Valley. 

Fiona Stack (Raheny Shamrock, W40) was first woman  in a time of 81 mins 26 secs at the Mullingar Half Marathon, also on Sunday,  with Noreen Brouder (Sportsworld, W40)  third in 82:29.  Crusaders AC finished third in the women’s team category.  

The compact McAuley Park in Harmonstownn  was the venue for the Paddy’s Day Half Marathon, 10km  and 5km organised by Up & Out Fitness and attracting  an entry of 478 across the three distances. Winner of the half marathon was Christy McElligott in 79 mins 56. Robert Lea, of nearby club Raheny Shamrock, was second in 82:40. First woman in  Seanagh Carton (D15 RC) in 89:10. Mary Walsh (Raheny Shamrock) was second in 90:31. Anthony Byrne, of organising group Up & Out Fitness, won the 10km in 36:03, with Zoe Quinn (Raheny Shamrock) first woman in 39:29. The event attracted a number of  the newer Dublin clubs, among them Coolock Running Club, North Clondalkin RC, Kilbarrack RC, The Liberties RC and Inner City RC.  

At the 51st St Patrick’s Day Tubbercurry 10km/5km, in Co Sligo, Eavan McLoughlin  (DCH AC) finished second woman in 38:00.

On Bank Holiday Monday (March 18), Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC) was a clear winner of the Skerries 10km with a time of 32:24. Second was local athlete Ronan Dunphy in 34:42. Fifth and first M50 was Declan Power (Clonliffe Harriers) in 35:13 First woman in 41:56 was Sive Duncan (UCD AC). 


At the Queen’s 5km, in Belfast on Wednesday (March 13) athletes from Clonliffe Harriers  took the top three places in the open 5km, with Cian Murray the winner in 16 mins 30 secs.


Dublin runners have two options in nearby Co Meath at the weekend: the Irish Life BHAA 6km Cross-Country on an entirely new course at Meath Eco Park, Rathbeggan Lakes (A85RR58) on Saturday (11am) and the Dunboyne 10km on Sunday (12 noon), where Mitchell Byrne (Rathfarnham WSAF) hopes to win for a second year.


Andrea Rondina (Crusaders AC) first novice, Dublin Championships 

Mitchell Byrne winner Tallaght 5km

Carla Sweeney first woman Tallaght 5km

Mid-pack - Tallaght 5km
Lucan Harriers at the Tallaght 5km