Share this:  


All roads led to north Dublin on Sunday, where the 40th Raheny 5-Mile had attracted a capacity entry of 5,000 from clubs all over the country. From the start,  Ryan Creech of Leevale AC, who had won the race a year earlier, was clearly a man on a mission and very quickly was out on his own reeling in the miles. He came home a clear winner in 23 mins 58 secs - five seconds slower than his winning time of a year earlier. Second in 24:30 was David Scanlon of Rathfarnham WSAF AC, while third in 24:32 was John Paul Williamson. First junior was Mahad Mohamed Egaal of Clonliffe Harriers 20th overall in 25:35.  First home of a stunning 91 senior teams was Clonliffe Harriers, with Annadale Striders second and Rahney third. Raheny won the over 40 team category, with Rathfarnham WSAF second and  Blackrock third. 

In the women’s race, Shona Heaslip of An Ríocht AC proved the class of the field winning in 26:12.  First Dublin club  athlete home was Catherina Mullen of MSB AC in 27:18. With Faye Dervan sixth, Orla Duffy seventh and Sorcha McAllister 12th, DCH took the senior team prize  ahead of  Raheny and DSD; a  total of 75 teams were included in this category.  A further 54 were counted for the M40 category where Raheny were the winners ahead of Sportsworld and Blackrock, with 

In the men’s  masters categories Fionn Griffin of Blackrock AC was first M45,  and Eddie Coyle of Tallaght AC first M75, while cheered all the way to the line was Paddy Beauchamp of host club Raheny Shamrock who finished first M80. Of the women, the Dublin winners were  Raheny’s Fiona Roche W40 Mary Brown of Lucan Harriers W65, Josie Power of Dublin Bay RC W70 and Raheny’s June Comiskey W75. 

A total of 4,270 finished what was the first big road race of the year, with virtually every Dublin, Meath, Wicklow and Kildare club and running group represented as well as clubs from the rest of Leinster, Ulster, Munster, and Connacht.

An honoured guest on the day was former Raheny Shamrock AC club president Nick Corish, now in his 100th year. Completing a complete set of 40 Raheny 5 races were longtime Raheny club members Bob Quinn and Steven Rowe. A great day, with ‘the Shamrocks’ also celebrating the recent acquisition of  a new and permanent home based in a reconditioned church very close to its previous HQ in a scouts den.


In Boston, Brian Fay of Raheny Shamrock AC, running in Nike colours, finished tenth in the men’s 5000m in 13:17.21 - not far off the 13:16.77 he had run in December 2022 which was an Irish record. Andrew Coscoran of Star of the Sea AC, running for New Balance,  broke that record when finishing ahead of Fay in the same race in Boston with a time of 13 mins 12.56  knocked four seconds off  Brian Fay’s time of 13:16.77 set in December 2022. Fay holds with Irish outdoor 5000m record with a time of 13:01.40 set last summer. Both athletes are part of the Dublin Track Club coaching group. 

Over 3000m, Paul O’Donnell (DSD) was 11th in 7:59.71. In the Penn State Open on Friday, Sean Donoghue of (DCH) ran a personal best time of 3:58.86 for eighth in the mile, while in New York, Sean Kay (Clonliffe Harriers) ran 14:09.56 for 5000m. In Champaign, Illinois,  at the Illini Challenge,  Irish champion Elizabeth Ndudi (DSD AC) jumped 6.41 for victory in the long jump. A day later, she ran 7.51 for third in the 60m final. 

Eric Favors (Raheny Shamrock) was in action at the World Indoor Meet in Astana, Kazakhstan on Saturday (January 27) where he added two centimetres to  his own Irish shot put record with a 20:18 effort. Also in Astana, Sophie Becker (Raheny Shamrock AC) finished a fighting second in the 400m in 53.19. In Sabadell, Spain,  on Saturday, Georgie Hartigan (DSD AC) ran 2:04.51 for fifth in the 800m.


At the AI Games in Abbotstown on Saturday (January 26), Efrem Gidey (Clonliffe Harriers)  ran a new indoor personal best time of  8:05.69. Cian McPhillips (UCD)  won the 800m with a time of 1:47.32, while making it a Dublin double over 1500m were Amy O’Donoghue (DSD) and Phillip Marron (DCH). Winning the women’s  3000m was Carla Sweeney (Rathfarnham WSAF AC). Fastest in the 200m was national record holder Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock) with a time of 21.34. In the 60m, Bori Akinola (UCD AC) won both his heats, clocking  6.83  in his first effort and 6.77 in his second.  Over 400m, David Bosch (DSD ) ran a personal best 48.35. In the field, Colm Bourke (Raheny Shamrock AC) won the men’s long jump with a best of 7.07m, while Stephen Fee (Lusk AC) threw 6.19m for victory in the weight for distance. 

Winning the national senior women’s heptathlon title with 3499 points was Lara O’Byrne of Donore Harriers In the masters’ competition, Peader McGing of DSD won the M60 title with 3042 points while Kevin Byrne, also DSD was second in the M50 category with 2993 points and Mark Woodger of MSB third with 2537 points. 


Captions (more at

Ryan Creech (orange) already pushing the pace soon after the start of the Raheny 5

Shona Heaslip - definitely No 1  at 40th Raheny 5.

Eric Favours, Raheny Shamrock

Nick Corish - honoured guest. Picture Frank Greally

Hayden Kenny of Ballymun AC - second in boys’ mile. Picture Suzanne Kenny

Ballymun AC juveniles - out in force.