Share this:  


At  the Sound Running Track Fest, held in Walnut, California on Saturday (May 6), Brian Fay of Raheny Shamrock AC lined out in the men’s 1500m, finishing sixth in 3:38.39; a time which puts him him top of the current Irish rankings. Georgie Hartigan of Dundrum South Dublin AC was seventh in  the women’s 800m in  2:05.89.

Also in the USA, Cathal Doyle of Clonliffe Harriers, opened his outdoor season  with a second place in the 1500m at the Oregon Twilight Meet on Friday (May 5). His time was an encouraging  3:39.96 - just over two seconds off his best.

Earlier in the week, at a meet in Lisbon, Portugal,  on Monday (May 1), Israel Olatunde of Tallaght AC  clocked 10.35 secs in the 100m putting him firmly top of the rankings. Joseph Ojewumi, also Tallaght AC, clocked 10.67 secs, while Mollie O’Reilly of DSD AC ran a personal best 11.81 secs.


Zone qualifiers for the Leinster schools Championships were held over the past two weeks, with the North and West zones, usually held in Santry, travelling to Tullamore for their competitions. East Leinster stayed closer to home at the new UCD track with a steep rise in numbers thanks to new schools signing up. Over the two days of competition on Tuesday and Thursday last (May 2 and 4), Blackrock  College and Mount Anville dominated overall with Mount Anville winning in all four girls’ categories - minor, junior, inter and senior - and ‘Rock winning junior, inter and senior boys. Among the winners was Sean Aigboboh of High School Dublin and Tallaght AC who was an impressive winner of the senior boys’ 100m and also helped his team to victory over Blackrock in the 4 x 100m. Winning the inter boys 4 x 100m was Oatlands College. Donal Martin of St Michael’s won both the  inter 100m  and 200m. An impressive winner of the senior boys’ javelin for Blackrock was Phillippe Le Roux who is  a member of the Irish cricket squad. Winning the senior boys’ shot was Michael O’Reilly of St Michael’s College. Of the girls, Holly O’Brien of St Andrew’s College and Blackrock AC won the inter 1500m, followed by Julie Cleary of Loreto Stephen Green and Donore Harriers. Cleary had earlier won the 3000m, with O’Brien second. Olivia Tobin of Mount Anville won the steeplechase.  Winning the 1500m steeplechase  at senior level was Siomha Magee of the Institute of Education and Raheny Shamrock AC.  Making it a 200m and 400m double was Niamh Murray of Loreto Dalkey, while first home in the 800m was Zoie Richie of the Teresian School and Rathfarnham WSAF. At U16 level, Isabella Prina Mello of Stepaside ET and DSD AC won the girls’ mile and Aidan O’Connor of The High School n the boys’ U16 mile. 

At the North Leinster Schools Championships in Tullamore a week earlier (Wednesday, April 26),  Sean Boyne of St Aidan’s Whitehall won the senior 2000m steeplechase with his Clonliffe Harriers clubmate, Cillian Keegan  of St David’s Artane, not only finishing second in that race but also winning the 5000m.  Winners of the Pat Hooper Shield as best overall school was St Paul’s Raheny with a squad coached by  Dick Hooper. 

All these will now compete in the Leinster Schools Championships in Tullamore on Wednesday May 17 and Saturday May 20. East Leinster pics here and Ballymun Running Festival here


On a quiet week for road running in Dublin, a few ‘Dubs’ ventured out of the city to run. In Co Tipperary, Ben Coughlan of Clonliffe Harriers finished second in the Dundrum 5km in 15 mins 35 secs last Wednesday (May 3). Also from Clonliffe, David Brady finished tenth and fourth M50 at the Navan 6km on Sunday (May 7). At the Bweeng Blazers 5km in Co Cork, also on Sunday, Ciaran Diviney of Crusades AC finished ninth and first M50 in 16:25. Travelling to Saturday’s Run with Catherina 5km in Cavan was a group of Clonliffe junior women, with Hazel Kenny of Clonliffe finishing second junior in 20.17 followed by Ciara Sheehy fourth and Mya O’Reilly sixth. 


Off road, Mark McAdden won the opening IMRA trail race of the season at Ardgillan  on Wednesday (May 3) finishing in a time of 35 mins 39 secs for the 9km course. First woman was Caoimhe Daniels of Sportsworld AC in 39:14.

Coming up: 

Wednesday May 10: Dublin Graded T-F,  Rd 2, Tallaght, 7pm. 200m, 4x100m, Dublin championships 1500m and HJ; LJ, DT. 

Sunday May 14: Terenure 5-Mile, Dublin, 10am (walkers 9.40am). Online entry €25. T-shirt all finishers; €300 winning M&F; €20 winning teams. Children’s races. Race HQ Our Lady’s School, Terenure.