Share this:  


Eoin Everard of Kilkenny City Harriers made it two wins from  the two rounds of the Peugeot Road Races Series held over the past week. In Enfield at the Bob Heffernan/Mary Hanley 5km, on Tuesday (May 16), Eanna O Bradaigh  led home the DSD team in 18th place, with Grace Lynch 4th and Meghan Ryan 5th of the women. For this league, teams consist of three men and three women. 

Five days later in Tullamore, at the Ashling Murphy 4-miler, Killian Mooney was  second overall. With Fiona Clinton second woman Sarah Mulligan third, DSD AC were even clearer wins and have now clocked up four wins from four events in 22:52, with eight races in all and the best four results to come. Next round is the Dunshaughlin 10km on Saturday June 17 and then three 10-mile races, with the final round in Cork on August 20. 

Taking place on Saturday (May 20) in Dublin’s Phoenix Park was the Irish Runner 5km, where the winners were Pierre Murchan of Dublin City Harriers  in 14 mins 26 secs and Leevale AC’s Lizzie Lee in 16:47. David Scanlan of Rathfarnham WSAF AC finished third  in14:58 and Cliona Murphy of Dublin City Harriers third woman in 16:58.With four in the top 10, Clonliffe Harriers took the senior men’s team title  ahead of Raheny Shamrock AC, Rathfarnham WSAF AC and Liffey Valley AC. Clonliffe also took the M35 title ahead of Brothers Pearse and Rathfarnham WSAF. Best of the senior women’s teams was DCH with Raheny Shamrock AC second and Dunboyne AC third. Donore Harriers  was second and Raheny Shamrock AC third in the W35 category. First W50 team was Lucan Harriers; Rathfarnham  WSAF was third M50 team. 

David Rooney of Raheny Shamrock AC won the LSA 4-Mile on Sunday in 20:52. Aoife O’Leary of Sportsworld AC was first woman in 23:34 - her second win in as many days. On Friday evening O’Leary was first woman at the Leixlip 5km.


A record number turned out for the fifth annual Lap of the Gap Marathon and Half Marathon held in and around Glendalough and Glenmacnass on Saturday (May 20). Tudor Mircea of Clonliffe Harriers, who had set a record of 70:35 for the half marathon a year earlier, had signed up for the marathon this time  hoping to break 2 hr 30 mins for the tough hilly course. He remained on target until the last 10km and despite losing some momentum, finished in 2 hrs 33 mins 16 secs, which is  a course record. Second in 2:35.28 was Mircea’s coach and Clonliffe clubmate Gary O’Hanlon who was also first M40. In third place and second M40 was Sean Brosnan in 2:54.07. Finishing third woman in 3:42.17 was Jade Harbron of  Cherry Orchard AC - one of Dublin’s newer clubs. A clear winner of the half marathon in 77:46 was Marc Augustin of Le Cheile AC  in Leixlip. Crossing the line together in 81.26 were Marc Fitzachary  of Rathfarnham WSAF AC and Karl Milligan of Brothers Pearse AC. 

Ray Hynes of Donore Harriers  was the winner of the Cheetah Run 5k, held in Fota Island in Co Cork  on Thursday (May 18) where the background noise includes the roaring of wild cats and the chattering of chimpanzees. One for everyone’s bucket list! 

Dublin BHAA members were on the beach for the annual ESB Beach 5km on Sandymount Strand, also on Thursday.  Leading them home with a time of 15:32 was Thomas Sherlock of Bank of Ireland and Clonliffe Harriers. Second in 16:42 was Pat Burke while third in 17:02 was Phelim Glynn of Eir. Fourth and first woman was Laura McDonnell  of Rathfarnham WSAF AC in 17.22. Next BHAA promotion is the Dunboyne 5-Mile on Tuesday May 30, promoted by the Government Services Group. Newcomers are always welcome. 


Efrem Gidey of Clonliffe Harriers clocked a time of 28 mins 01.55 secs to finish 15th in the championship race at the Night of 10,000 PBs in London on Saturday (May 30). 

In the graded races, Stephen Fay of Raheny Shamrock AC clocked 30:35.20 when finished third in Race 3, while winning Race 1 in a PB  time of 31:36.48 was Ieuan Hopkins of Brothers Pearse AC. In one of the women’s races, Danielle Donegan of UCD AC finished 11th in a PB 35:14.73. 


Wednesday May 24 - Dublin Graded T-F Meet Rd 3, Lucan, 7pm. 400m, 4 x 400m, Dublin C’ship 800m; SP.

Tuesday, June 6 - Opening round 25th annual  Lord Mayor 2-Mile Series , Raheny, 8pm. Thirteen rounds in all until August 29.  Entry €50 for series (including Jim Wall Handicap on September 5) or €7 per race.

June 10 - UCD Track Meet, Belfield. In association with Irish Milers Cup. Cash prizes women’s 800m  and Dr Tony O’Neill Men’s Mile. Also 100, 200, 400, and 3000m; field TBA. Entry opened May 14.

June 18 - DSD Open Track Meet, DSD Sports Campus, Tibradden Lane.  Women’s 5000m added to schedule; over a hundred entries received so far. Details