Share this:  


Munster invader Michael Harty of East Cork AC was the winner of the Rathfarnham 5km, held in Dublin on Sunday (September 24) in a time of 14 mins 32 secs. Harty, who was also first M40, saw off the challenge of  Raheny Shamrock AC’s Daniel Stone  and David Scanlon of host club Rathfarnham WSAF AC  who finished almost together in 14:37 and 14.38. Stone and Scanlon were first and second in the Dublin Championships, with Mitchell Byrne  of Rathfarnham WSAF AC  fifth and third Dublin athlete in 14:50. Eighth and first M50 was Shane Healy of Metro St Brigid’s AC who has his sights set on the world M55 mile record when he moves into that category on October 5. Mahad Mohamed Egaal of Clonliffe Harriers was first Dublin junior. Finishing third woman and first Dublin athlete in 16: 32 was Ciara Hickey of Brothers Pearse AC. Hickey was also first W40 and won the Dublin Championships title. Carla Sweeney of Rathfarnham WSAF AC was second in the Dublin championships with Edel Monaghan of Dublin City Harriers third.  First of the twenty-two men’s teams to finish was Rathfarnham WSAF AC, who also took the Dublin title. Clonliffe Harriers were second and Crusaders AC third, led by Colm Parnell in seventh place.  In the women’s team competition, Dublin City Harriers were clear winners ahead of Rathfarnham WAF AC and Sportsworld AC, with these three teams also declared Dublin champions. In the Dublin M35 team championships Sportsworld AC, led by Karol David Cronin, won the men’s title ahead of Metro St Brigid’s AC and Rathfarnham WSAF AC. Civil Service AC won the M50 category ahead of Brothers Pearse AC and Sportsworld AC. Taking the women’s W35 title was Brothers Pearse AC, ahead of Civil Service AC and Lusk AC. Lucan Harriers were clear winners of the W50 title ahead of Blackrock AC  with only two teams entered.

* Full album of photos from Rathfarnham 5k 2023 at

Abroad, a number of Dublin club members  finished the Berlin  Marathon, also on Sunday. Among them were:  W40: Aoife O’Leary (Sportsworld AC) 2:52.59. W45: Tara Kennedy (Raheny Shamrock AC) 3:05.13; Mary Walsh (Raheny Shamrock AC) 3:0.16. M45: Shane O’Farrell (LSA AC) 2 :38.15.

John Travers of Donore Harriers followed up his victory at the Griffith Avenue Mile last week with another win, this time in Athlone, where he proved the class of the field at the Midland 10km  finishing almost ten minutes clear of the chasers in in 29 mins 50 secs.  In the  half Marathon race,  Gareth Murran of Sportsworld AC  was second in 75:3,

In Co Kildare, Kevin Byrne of Raheny Shamrock AC was the winner of the Naas Town 10km in 33 mins 59 secs. First woman in 42:29 was Siobhan O’Toole.

At the Dublin Half Marathon, held in the Phoenix Park on Saturday, Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers finished second  behind winner Peter Somba of Dunboyne AC  in 67.06. Fifth in 67:36 was Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock AC, with Tudor Mircea Moldovan of Clonliffe Harriers sixth in 67:54. Second woman was Fiona Stack of Raheny Shamrock AC in 83:12, with Yuliya Tasasova of Clonliffe Harriers third in 84:31. Dublin age group winners were Ciobanu M40, Peter Gaffney (Donore Harriers) M50, Katherine Duff (Blackrock AC) W40,  and Caroline Murphy (Brothers Pearse AC) W55. 


At the Star of the Sea promotion in Stamullen, Co Meath on Sunday (September 24), Laura McDonnell of Rathfarnham WSAF AC was second in with women’s 3km race in a time of 11:36 while in the  men’s 6000m two Raheny Shamrock juniors finished second and third – Jame Rankin Whelan second in 21:19 and Luiz Melo third in 21:37.