Share this:  


James Whelan of Raheny Shamrock AC ran the fastest 3000m time of the night at the final Dublin Graded Track and Field Meet at Santry on Wednesday (August 2). Whelan was running in the B race and finished in a time of 8:49.31. In the A race, Conor Burke of Celbridge AC was the winner in 8:59.16. Burke was chased hard by Dylan O’Brien of Raheny Shamrock AC who finished second in 9:00.24. Dylan Wright of Lucan Harriers was third in 9:11.53. Winning the women’s 3000m in 9:51.57 was Cliona Murphy of Dublin City Harriers. First home in the women’s grade A mile was Louise Gaffney of Rathfarnham WSAF AC in 5:10.99. A close second in 5:11.76 was Maria Jones of Sportsworld AC who had led in the opening laps.  

Conall Connell  of Raheny Shamrock AC won the men’s A mile in  4:26.043, followed by Cian Hodgins of Nenagh Olympic AC in 4:27.09. Winning the men’s A 400m in 49.26 secs was Robert Hewison of Kildare AC. Close to fifty athletes had entered the men’s 400m, with four grade D races, held under floodlights as the evening light faded. Fastest of the women was  Claire Mooney, now with Crusaders AC, who won the B race in 56.30 secs. Mooney was national indoors  400m champion in 2018.  Zoie Richie of Rathfarnham WSAF AC  had won the A race in 57.81 secs. Angela Castell Rodriguez  of Raheny Shamrock AC was second in 58.42 and Daisy Walker of Monaghan Phoenix AC third in 58.50.

In the field, national champion Michael Bowler of Enniscorthy AC had three failed attempted at 4.80m, but still won the competition with a  4.60m height.  Simon Galligan of Clonliffe Harriers won the men’s hammer with a 62.72 throw,  followed by Lusk AC’s Stephen Fee with 61.14m. Nicola Tuthill of UCD AC was best of the women with 66.39. Alina Duran of Tallaght AC threw 61.14 and Margaret Hayden, also Tallaght AC, 60.83m. 

The final grand prix points total for the eight meeting series are posted elsewhere on this site and are attached here. A prize giving cermony will be arranged for later in the year.

*Full album from Meeting No. 8  is at


Anthony Brady with a time of 83 mins 30 secs led home 254 finishers at the Inner City Runners 21km on a lapped course based at Henrietta House in northside Dublin. A close second in 83:36 was Brian Kelly of Raheny Shamrock AC, while third in 84:10 was Anthony O’Brien. Finishing eighth and first woman in 89:45 was Mary Walsh. Sinead Cowan of the host club Inner City Runners was second in 90:38 and Carmel Ward of Raheny Shamrock AC third in 93:28.  

In a  10km dominated by women, Yumiko Bejarano was  the winner in 35:53, with Colm Cassidy of Raheny Shamrock AC second and first man in 37:07 and Siobhan Eviston, also Raheny Shamrock, third in 38:34. The top three in the 5km were all women - Julianna Silva in 28.00, Niamh Hassett in 28:31 and Tracey Dowling in 30:52. Fourth and first man was Noely Hanney in 31:36.  

At the Kilbeggan 10-Mile in Aghamore, Co Westmeath on Sunday, Eoin Flynn of Rathfarnham WSAF AC  was first M40 in 52:55. Ciara Hickey, winner of the Terenure 5 earlier this year, was second woman and first W40 in 56:30. Dee O’Keeffe, like Hickey a member of Brothers Pearse AC , was third in 65:43. 

In Co Kerry, Aoife O’Connor of Raheny Shamrock AC was  forst woman at the Banna Run 10km at Ardfert in 40:58. . 

Daniel Ryan Ellis of Nenagh Olympic and Siobhan O’Doherty of Borrisokane AC were the winners of the Run with Cillian 10km on Sunday in Borrisokane, Co Tipperary.  Their times were 34:44 and 39:08.  The race was in aid of Paralympian Cillian Dunne of  Borrisokane AC, who duly won the 5km in 24.40. Joan Stakelum was first woman. 


At the Carlingford 5km in Co Louth on Friday (August 4), Shane Healy of Metro St Brigid’s AC finished eighth and first M50, as well as first master overall, s in 15:16. Faye Dervan of Dublin City Harriers  was third woman in 17:02. First of the seventeen men’s teams entered  was  the Raheny Shamrock AC trio of Kevin Moriarty, Ian Conroy and David Rooney.

In Co Meath, also on Friday, Brian O’Kelly of Crusaders AC was the winner of the Streets of Athboy 5km in 15:35. Fourth and first M35 was Anthony Sharkey of LSA  AC in 16:16. Ian O’Reilly of Brothers Pearse AC was fifth and first M45 in  16:20. Fiona Clinton of Dundrum South Dublin AC finished second woman in 16:48  with Barbara Cleary of Donore Harriers third in 17:02. Second of the seventeen women’s teams was Civil Service AC.

Conall Rogers (Raheny Shamrock AC) winner men’s A mile 
Sean Heaslip Owens (Clonliffe Harriers) - leading the chasing pack in men’s B mile,

Jack Maugham (Clonliffe Hrs) winning grade C mile 
Louise Gaffney (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) winner A mile 

Claire Mooney (Crusaders AC  winning B 400m