Share this:  

Dublin City Marathon 2023 Report

Lindie has a full set of excellent pictures from the Dublin City Marathon 2023 on her Flickr account at

For a 42nd time, the Dublin Marathon took over the city on Sunday  (October 29) with Stephen Scullion of Clonliffe Harriers and Ann Marie McGlynn from Letterkenny AC taking the  men and women’s titles at the National Marathon Championship titles  held in conjunction with the Dublin race. Also  at stake were Dublin individual and team titles with Scullion the first member of a Dublin club to finish and Sorcha Loughnane of Donore Harriers the first Dublin woman and also third  in the national champiobships and second W45 in 2:45.31.  

Full results haveyet to be confirmed but Kane Collins of Donore Harriers ,who finished 15th in 2:25.25, looks like the second Dubliner in the senior men’s category, followed by Tudor Mircea Moldovan in 2:25.52. Finishing 19th overall and first M45 was Gary O’Hanlon, a former national champion, in 2:26.33, which means Clonliffe Harriers look likely to have taken the national senior team title for an eleventh time. Backing up the scoring trio were Eoin Taggart with a time of  2:29.36 for his first ever marathon and four times former champion Sergiu Ciobanu in 2:30.56. Clonliffe won the first ever team title in 1968. Raheny Shamrock was out in considerable force, and leading them home was  Kevin Moriarty in 2:31.16, followed by Graham Ahearne  third M45 in 2:36.03. First Raheny woman was Fiona Stack in 2:51.42, who was first W40 Dublin club athlete. A total of twenty club members broke three hours. Donore Harriers was another well represented club with Kane Collins finishing 15th in 2:25.25, Kenneth Nugent in 2:40.48 and Didier Da Costa sixth M50 in 2:44.58.

First for  Crusaders was Vincent McGuinness seventh M40 in 2:29.27, followed by Ciaran Diviney 2nd M50 in 2:37.35. One place behind McGuinness was Matthew Collins of Portmarnock AC in 2:29.29. For Rathfarnham WSAF, Eoin Flynn finished  in 2:33.16. First for LSA was Anthony Sharkey  in 2:39.00, while leading home the DSD contingent was master athlete Aidan Murphy in 2:43.20. First for Sportsworld was Gavin Finley  in 2:43.49; for Lusk, Maurice McDermott  in 2:45.02, for Brothers Pearse, Padraig Mahoney  in 2:46.39  and for Metro St Brigid’s, Nick Lawlor  in 2:48.02, followed by Liam Tremble in 2:57.33.  Blackrock  AC was led home by Igor Pashchenko in 2:49.32, with Ger Copeland first home for Dublin Bay RC in 2:53.06.  For Sportsworld, Noreen Brouder was second W40  (Dublin) in in 3:00.07 and Carmel Ward of Raheny Shamrock third in 3:05.48.  In the W45 age group, Loughane wasfollowed by Adrienne Jordan (Crusaders AC) in 3:09.46 and Sinead Kiernan (LSA) 3:23.23. Una Gaines (Lusk AC)  ran 3:16.22 to finish first W50, with  Donna Mahon (Rathfarnham WSAF) second in 3:25.06 and Niamh Murphy (Brothers Pearse) third  in 3:42.35. 

Catherine Murphy (Brothers Pearse ) looks to have won the W55 Dublin title with a time of 3:30.00. Caroline Hayes  (Balbriggan and Dist) was just behind her in 3:20.11, with Triona Quill  (Crusaders AC) third in 3:45.54.  Other good runs came from Grainne Grennan (Blackrock AC)  in the W65 age group with a time of 3:35, with Rosemary Gaines (Waterstown Warriors) second and Josephine Dignam (Lucan Harriers) third; first home overall for Lucan was Ryan Rafter in 2:55.02. 

Newly registered club Ballymun AC had twenty athletes in action, with Dean Hayden finishing in 2:58.34, Gerard Prendergast in 3:16.35 and  Kenneth Coakley in 3:17.30. Another new running group called D15, based in Blanchardstown, was led home by Seanagh Carton who was 24th woman in 3:06.38; her mother Martina finished behind her in 3:55.04.  Well done everyone! 

  • Full results of the Dublin Championshisp ASAP. 
  • Don’t forget next Sunday’s Dublin Cross-Country Championships in Santry.