Share this:  
Despite a record entry of close to 4,000 from clubs all over the country, Dublin athletes held their own at  the 39th AXA Raheny 5-Mile held in bright gusting conditions in Dublin on Sunday (January 29). Finishing just five seconds behind race winner Ryan Creech of Leevale AC  in a time of 23:58 was an impressive Mitchell Byrne of Rathfarnham WSAF AC. In fourth place (in 24:04), Ian Guiden was leading Clonliffe Harriers to a comfortable team victory over  Kilkenny City Harriers, and Rathfarnham WSAF AC. First junior in an impressive time of 25:31 was Niall Carbery of Clonliffe Harriers. Ann-Marie McGlynn of Letterkenny AC was taking her third Raheny crown in the women’s race where ex-Donore Harriers Sorcha Nic Dhomhnaill, now with West Limerick AC, was second in 27:05. Leevale took the team title ahead of  host club Raheny Shamrock AC  and Sportsworld RC. Raheny made it a team double in the over 40 category, with the women beating Drogheda and District AC and Lusk and men clear winners over Donore Harriers and North Belfast Harriers. Dublin winners in the age groups were W45 Zoe Quinn (Raheny Shamrock); W55 Annette Kealy (Raheny Shamrock) , W60 Mary Browne (Lucan Harriers), W70 Eileen O’Brien (Lucan Harriers), W75 June Comiskey (Raheny Shamrock) M45 David Kirwan (Raheny Shamrock), M60 Philip O’Doherty (Clonliffe Harriers), M65 James Cottle (Crusaders) and M75 Paddy Beauchamp (Raheny Shamrock). Virtually every Dublin club and running group was represented. Special mention for newcomers Cherry Orchard (with their  unmissable orange tops!), Garristown Flyers, Sloggers to Joggers from Swords, Clontarf RG and Sanctuary Runners. Special congrats to the army of  Raheney Shamrock helpers, under the direction of Dave Hooper, who made the day possible. Here’s to the 40th anniversary race! 
Dublin indoor performance of the weekend came from Brian Fay of Raheny Shamrock AC. Fay ran a personal best of 3 mins 52.03 secs when finishing second in a thrilling mile race held on an ‘oversized’ track at  the Washington Indoor Invitational in Seattle. Only in the chase for the line was Fay passed by his Washington University team mate Joe Waskom. Washington athletes took seven of the top eight places with  all of them breaking four minutes. 
At the Dr Sander Columbia Challenge at the Armory in New York, Luke McCann  of Dublin City Harriers, who holds the Irish record for th distance, won the 1000m in 2:19.31.
Other good runs came from Abdel Laadjel of Donore Harriers, still only 19,  who ran a personal best 13:50.03 when finishing third  in his 5000m heat at the Terrier Classic in Boston, where a large group of up-and-coming Irish middle distance runners made their presence felt. In the mile, Paul O’Donnell of Dundrum South Dublin AC ran a time of 4:08. 63, Daniel Stone Of Raheny Shamrock AC 4:19.02 and Stephen Fay, also  Raheny Shamrock, 4:19.90 . In the 3000m, O’Donnell ran a personal best 8:08.27 and  Shane Coffey of Dublin TC a time of 8:14.08  In Bloomington, at the Indiana University Relays, Roisin Treacy of Dundrum South Dublin AC ran a mile time of  5:08.13.
At the Manchester World Indoor Tour meet on Saturday (January 28) where Nicholas Griggs of Mid-Ulster AC ran an Irish U20 record of  7:54.44 for 3000m, John Travers of Donore Harriers clocked a time of  8:34.28.
Also in Manchester, Zak Curran of  Dundrum South Dublin AC won the first of two 800m races in 1:51.06. Roland Surlis of Clonliffe Harriers was fourth in 1:51.71. At a meet in Lyon, France, Nadia Power of Dublin City Harriers clocked 2:05.28 for  second in the women’s 800m.
In Abbotstown, Darragh McElhinney of UCD AC won the 3000m at the Irish Universities Indoors Championships on Saturday (January 28)in a time of 8:05.86. Taking the women’s 3000m title was Aoife O Cuill of DCU. DCU took both team titles. Highlights of Sunday’s AI Indoor Games in Athlone included a victory for Ellie Hartnett of UCD AC in the women’s 1500m with a time of 4:24.79.
For the first time, three of the four LeinsterSchools cross-country qualifiers were held in Dublin’s Phoenix Park on the three days between January 25 and 27.
First off were the East Leinster Championships, where Emma McEvoy of Loreto Stephen’s Green won the senior girls’ race. Senior team winners were the Institute oof Education girls and the Wesley boys.  
At  inter level,  Julie Cleary of Loreto Stephen’s Green proved best of the girls, with the Blackrock boys and the St Andrew’s girls the team winners.
Eve Nic Chonchubair of Coláiste Cois Life  and Cormac Dixon of HFSC Rathcoole were the senior winners at the West Leinsters, where  Emily Bolton of Mount Sackville took the inter title and Belvedere took three of the four boys’ team titles on offer. Mount Sackville were the inter girls’team winners.
Last up were the North Leinster qualifiers where St Dominic’s Cabra won the senior team title. The top teams and individuals will race at the Leinster Championships in Santry on Wednesday, February 8.