Share this:  
Gary O’Hanlon of Clonliffe Harriers has won the Dublin Marathon Championships title after his run at the Irish Life Dublin Marathon on Sunday (October 30). O’Hanlon, aged 48, in  tenth place overall and third Irishman, finished  in a time of 2:25.16. Next  Dublin club finishers was Vincent McGuinness of Crusaders AC in 2:31.30 followed by Mark Kirwan of Raheny Shamrock AC in 2:32.30 and Graham Kirwan,  also Raheny Shamrock, in 2:32.58. Rising star Graham Gilshinan of Portmarnock AC was fifth Dublin club member in 2:33./37 and Matthew Kane of Rathfarnham WSAF AC sixth in 2:34.19.
Irish 50km champion Sorcha Loughnane of Donore Harriers, showing no signs of tiredness after her outing at the European 50km Championships a few weeks earlier, was first female Dublin club member home and second W45. Loughnane is coached by none other than Gary O’Hanlon and her time of  2:45.48  was not far off her personal best of 2:45.23 run in the Cork Marathon last June, where she had finished second behind Lizzie Lee. Her Donore clubmate Niamh Clifford, finishing close behind  Loughnane, was second ‘Dub’ (although like Loughnane, originally from Kerry) in a personal best time of 2:46.10. Third Dublin club athlete was Kate Purcell of Raheny Shamrock AC in 2:47.33; Purcell, an Irish mountain running international, has been in good form this year having won the Irish Life Dublin Race Series.  For Sportsworld, Aoife O’Leary finished fourth in 2:51.19. 
In the masters’ age groups, Purcell  was first W35, O’Leary first W40 and Loughnane first W45.  Dee O’Keeffe of Brothers Pearse AC was second W45 and Tara Kennedy of Raheny Shamrock AC third.  Anne Curley (Donore Harriers), running her 30th marathon was first W50,  while the winners in other age categories were Olwyn Dunne (Crusaders AC) W55, Grainne Grennan (Blackrock AC) W60, Mary Browne (Lucan Harriers) W65 and the remarkable Mary Lynch (Raheny Shamrock AC), who started running through Parkrun, W70. As for the men,  Gary O’Hanlon was first M45 and also takes the national title. In other age groups, winners were Ray Hynes (Donore Harriers) M40, Ciaran Diviney (Crusaders AC)  M50, Ger O’Toole (Blackrock AC) M55, Paul Tester (Brothers Pearse AC) M60,  James Cottle (Crusaders AC) M65 (also winning the Irish title), Maurice O’Connell (Raheny Shamrock AC) M70 and Eddie Coyle (Tallaght AC) M75.
Among other exceptional performances by Dublin athletes  was Dave Brady’s 1,010th marathon, which he completed in 6:02.60.  Before the two years of lockdown scuppered his plans, Brady had hoped to run his 1,000m marathon at the 2020 Dublin Marathon. He managed that feat in Longford last August and has kept going since then. Kudos also to Martin Kelly of Raheny Shamrock AC, first home of the eight  ‘All Timers’ to have completed every Dublin Marathon since the inaugural race of 1980.  When Kelly lined out on that historic morning, he was just out of school.  These days, he runs in the M60 class and on Sunday, he finished in  a respectable time of 3:39.27. Another ‘All Timer’ completing his 41st Dublin Marathon was Michael Carolan of Brothers Pearse AC who finished in 3:49.51. Completing the race in 3:58.41 was Dan  Tighe, who was pushed all the way by his mother Sinead Tighe of Brothers Pearse AC, with support from Noel Fahey.  It was a sixth marathon for a Dan and a seventh for Sinead. Finishing in 3:16.53 was former  400m track star  David Gillick of Dundrum South Dublin AC. Virtually every Dublin club was represented among the 14,743 finishers currently listed. 
The full results are on the TDL Services website at The national results will be available on the Athletics website shortly and the Dublin ones on this site when available.
Lindie Naughton