Share this:  

Analysis of the second graded track and field meeting by Nick Davis

In less than summer like  conditions 165 athletes competed in the second meeting of the series at the Tallaght track. A wind reading of -4 was recorded for one of the 100mtrs which meant  p.b.'s were out of the question. The host clubs Eoin Doherty was the fastest man winning his race in 11.24 ahead of Ballymena 's Jonathan Carleton 11.49.  The emergence of the Tallaght club as a sprints force was in evidence with Faruq Sanni  winning his race in 11.87 with teamate Sean Bolger also successful in 11.91.  Fingallians Sarah Murray was the fastest woman in action winning in 12.31 ahead of Doneen'''s Lauren Ryan.
Ellie Hartnett lead all the way to win the women's 800 in 2.14.31 Claire Brennan second in  2.17.99. Another front running winner was Dromore's Rebekah Nixon winner of the B race in 2.23.28  whilst Donores Maura Kearns deployed a home straight surge to win her race in 2.23.47.

Eric Keogh won a tactical mens A race in 1.55.61 ahead of the youthful Conall Hayes of Dunshaughlin with Ratoath's Conor Duncan third.Sixty athletes competed in the  seven races among the winners were Joseph Hèssion of Clonliffe 2.01.87 and Liffey Valley's Peter Arthur 2.04.36.

Isabel Carron of Skerries transferred her good cross country running to the track with a competent 3000 metres win in 10.15.81 ahead of Meghan Ryan .

There was an absorbing mens 3000 with the youthful Pierre Merchan and the experienced Emmet Dunleavy. The Sligo man looked like he had disposed of the challenge of the D.C.H. man with 600 to go as he eased ahead but Pierre moved into another gear around the final bend and won in 8.37.93 with Emmett clocking 8.40.18.
Neil O'Rourke was a smooth looking winner of the B 3000mtrs in 9.19.26.
Fingallians Añe Marie Tornsey was the winner the shot putt her best effort of 11.40 bringing her to victory.