Share this:  

A fine Summers evening attracted good fields in all events with the added bonus of championship  medals as the Dublin Championships were incorporated into the meeting. Susan Scallan made a winning return to competition to win the 200 metres in 26.06 with Christopher O'Donnell making the journey from Sligo to win the men's equivalent in 22.56. Nadia Power from Templeogue was in search of European Junior qualifying time in the 1500 metres and her clubmate Kate O'Halloran took the pace along for the first 800 metres. Maria O'Sullivan and Rachel Gibson were hanging on to the diminutive Power as she pressed  and left her pursuers trailing in her wake as she won in 4m29.59 just outside the required 4m28.00 there were quite a few personal bests throughout the field among them Maria O'Sullivan who clocked 4m34.52 in second place.

A reluctant men's 1500 metres field saw opening laps covered at a moderate pace Donore's Lee Van Haeftan at the front. Ferrybank's Andrew Connick had the best sprint over the last 300 metres to win in 4m01.77 ahead of Andrieu Jenkinson with Peter Gaffney third in 4m03.30.

Tight finishes were the order of the day in the 1500's Ronan Duggan outleaned Richard Lucas to win in 4m12.73 and Garreth Murran sprinted down the straight when it looked like Sam Allen was on his way to victory. The 21 man field in the 5000 metres divided into groups very quickly and the leading group of Mick Clohissey, Sean Hehir, Aaron Hanlon, David Rooney and David Flynn detatched themselves from the field early on. David Rooney making a welcome return to the track had a short spell at the front but Mick Clohissey pushed it along and David Flynn was the first to be dropped.

The diminutivey Clonliffe man Aaron Hanlon , based in Providence College, was mixing it with the marathon men Clohissey and Hehir but the sheer power of the Raheny man  over  the last  1000   metres saw him win 14.30.45 with Hanlon second in 14m37.53 holding off Sean Hehir who clocked 14m38.80. Ann-Marie McGlynn won a mixed 5000 metres in16m30.17s ahead of Siobhan O'Doherty's 17m05.98 and Una Britton third in 17m13.05s