It was another good year for the Dublin Graded Meeting series of eight meetings with up to 2000 athletes competed from 30 Counties over the eight meetings making it arguably the most comprehensive track and field competition in the country. With four categories to select from athletes can choose to compete in an event suitable to their standard.

Rathfarnham's Stephen Gaffney was the fastest over 100 metres clocking 10.87 into a -2.1 headwind . He did run 10.67 with a plus 2.1. On the women's side Catherine McManus ran 12.13 into a headwind.

Sophie Becker won a 400metres in 54.79 in windy conditions with a 1/100th of a second separating Catherine McManus 56.84 to Nicole Walsh's 56.85. Over the one lap Cillin Greene made a return to competition clocking 49.08.

John Travers 1.51.06 was the fastest 800 metres clocking. On the women's 800 side Clare Mooney ran 2.05.64 to win the women's 800 in a breezy Tallaght.

Sean Hehir ran 31.40.43 to win the Dublin Championships10000 the only 10000mtrs. run in the country apart from the National Senior title race. A pity distance runners are reluctant to take on the 10000m on the track which will provide them with a good test of both their mental and physical durability.

Interesting observations by both Danny McDaid and John Treacy at a lunch to celebrate the 40th anniversary of John's win the World Cross in Limerick in 1979 .Danny who finished the race leading the Irish team to second telling the audience that at 13m53s he was the slowest of the 9 man Irish Team. With John expressing the view that if you want results  over the "country* you need to run fast over 5000 and 10000 on the track.

In field events Clare Fitzgerald made a return to competition with 47.92 throw in the Discus and Michaela Walsh was the leading Hammer Thrower 58.43 her mark. Michael Bowler lead the Pole Vault rankings with.4.60mtrs.

A track innovation was the "Elimination Mile" where the last athlete after each of the first three laps is eliminated Rahenys Andrew Hyland lead the filed home with Crusaders Fiona Shine the best of the women in action.

Competition Secretary Owen McLoughlin and his team are to be congratulated on their hard work and the small cohort of reliable officials who come along to make the competition possible are to be thanked for their unfailing support throughout the series.

                                                      Nick Davis


Upcoming Events

There are no up-coming events