Irishtown Stadium was the venue for the third meeting in the series of Graded Meetings organised by Dublin Athletics Board and in Summer like conditions there were some competitive races. With athletes from as far apart as Derry and Waterford and all places in between it continues to be the most accessible track and field competition in the country. 

Ferrybank's Andrew Connick won the Men's 10000 metres in 31.53s ahead of Brian Kirwan of SLOT who clocked 32.20.1 with new comer Dylan Keegan from Templeogue A.C. finishing third in 32.26.2.continuing his good running to add to his 5000m win in the previous meeting. 

Brian and Andrew pulled away from the 12 man field in the early stages and established  a good rhythm and  at halfway the Ferrybank man started to open a gap on the Carlow man who did have the satisfaction of setting a new p.b.

The addition of a new "C" category to women's middle distance has seen the numbers increase with some 46 in action over the three grades.

Crusader's Mary Horgan  left no one in doubt about her intentions in the "A" race as she lead  the field around the opening lap in a lively 63 seconds without the aid of a pacemaker. There was almost a "traffic jam" as the remaining 11 runners were bunched together. They say that fortune favours the brave and so Mary hung on to win in 2.14.45 with Niamh Donnelly extracating herself from the chasing bunch to finish second ahead of her DCH clubmate Claire Brennan.

Another woman to take it on from the front was Denise Toner from Clones who clocked 2.18.74 to win the "B" race. This was in stark contrast to the "C" race where Aimee McGrath from Newbridge just held off the challenge of Ellen Cheung from Blackrock after a great battle down the home straight.  

Raheny's Eoin Strutt was a clear winner of the first of two Men's "A" races clocking 1.55.75 whilst Clonliffe's Cathal Doyle won the second one in 1.56.53. One of the closest races in the men's series was the "B" one where Shaun Conaghan of Clonliffe just held off the fast finishing  Civil Service man Neil O'Rourke  in 2.03.32.

Leah Bergin from Clonliffe ran the fastest women's 400 of the evening in 57.93. Rathfarnham's Lee Byrne was the fastest of the men in action clocking 51.30.

Clare Fitzgerald threw 51.40 in the women's Discus with Marco Pons best measured at 49.72. Grace Casey from Eire Og had the furthest throw in the Women's Javelin with 48.05 and Michael Jordan from Naas lead the Men's with 48.45.


Nick Davis



Upcoming Events

There are no up-coming events